Biology and Environmental Sciences Faculty and Staff

Kenneth Baker Kenneth Baker
B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Professor of Biology

Dr. Ken Baker greatly enjoys his twin roles at Heidelberg as a scientist and a professor in the Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences. As an ecologist, he is interested in questions about how living organisms interact with each other and with their environmental surroundings. Over...
kbaker@heidelberg.edu
(419)-448-2224

Amy Berger Amy Berger
B.S., Ph.D.
Professor of Geology
Department Chair

Dr. Berger found geology by accident as a result of interaction with an outstanding professor at a small liberal arts college. Her undergraduate experience comparing modern and ancient reef environments served as a jumping-off point for graduate work in hydrology, where she investigated the...
aberger@heidelberg.edu
(419)-448-2292

Susan Carty Susan Carty
B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Professor Emerita of Biology (1988-2013)

Dr. Susan Carty earned her B.S. and M.S. from State University of New York at Stony Brook, her M.S. from University of Oklahoma and her Ph.D. at Texas A & M University. She has been at Heidelberg since 1988 and teaches courses in General Botany, Ethnobotany, Field Biology and...
scarty@heidelberg.edu
(419)-448-2044

Angela Chidester Angela Chidester
Instructor of Biology

Angela Chidester is currently an instructor for biology laboratories for first and second-year students. She is also a member of the Next-Generation Sequencing group at the University of Michigan DNA Sequencing Core.


achidest@heidelberg.edu
(734)-474-0082
Ashlee Decker Ashlee Decker
Adjunct Faculty
adecker@heidelberg.edu
(419)-448-2599
Pam Faber Pam Faber
B.S., M.S., M.B.A., D.A.
Professor of Biology

Dr. Faber teaches the anatomy and physiology courses for students with majors in biology, athletic training and health and physical education. She also teaches the Cadaver Prosection and Cat Dissection labs. She is also a licensed professional counselor and volunteers her time at a local United...
pfaber@heidelberg.edu
(419)-448-2976

Wendy Kelbley Wendy Kelbley
Administrative Assistant
wkelbley@heidelberg.edu
(419)-448-2197
Kenneth Krieger Kenneth Krieger
Ph.D., Emory University, M.S., Emory University, B.S., Emory University
Professor of Biology
Director – NCWQR

Dr. Krieger assumed the role of director of the National Center for Water Quality Research (NCWQR) in July 2010. As a biologist and ecologist in the NCWQR since 1978, he has conducted research on wide-ranging topics including (1) the population and community ecology and indicator status of...
kkrieger@heidelberg.edu
(419)-448-2226

Chris Monsour Chris Monsour
Instructor of Biology
chris-monsour@tiffin.k12.oh.us
(419)-448-2197
Justin Pruneski Justin Pruneski
Assistant Professor of Biology
  • Participated in the Research Coordination Network – Undergraduate Biology Education (RCN-UBE): Animations Meeting, Davis, CA. July 2013
  • Research Interests: Using the power of yeast genetics to understand the regulation of gene expression. Using web-based resources to...
    jprunesk@heidelberg.edu
    (419)-4482043
Kylee Spencer Kylee Spencer
B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology

Dr. Kylee Spencer is a new Assistant Professor in the Department of Biology and Environmental Science. She graduated with a Ph.D. in Human Genetics and an M.S. in Statistics from Vanderbilt University in 2007. Her research interests include defining the specific genetic variants that underlie...
kspencer@heidelberg.edu
(419)-448-2518