’Berg music faculty gala features instrumentalists, vocalists

Oct 1, 2012

Heidelberg University’s Fall Faculty Gala will be held at 4 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 7, in Brenneman Music Hall. Those performing are Lori Akins, flute; Melissa Bosma, oboe; Margarita Denenberg, piano; Carol Dusdieker, soprano; Ioana Galu, violin; Eric Rutherford, bassoon; Joel Shonkwiler, trombone; and Barbara Specht, clarinet.

Several artists are new members of the faculty at Heidelberg. Bosma, an adjunct instructor of oboe, received her bachelor of music degree from Southern Methodist University and two master’s of music degrees in chamber music and oboe performance from the University of Michigan. Rutherford, adjunct instructor of bassoon, is a graduate of the University of Kansas with a master’s degree from the University of Michigan.

A native of the Soviet Union, Denenberg, assistant professor of piani, began teaching full time this semester. She won her first piano competition at the age of 8, gave her first European concert tour in her teens, and has been garnering awards and honors ever since. She graduated with distinction in piano performance from the University of Southern California in 2012. She received her bachelor of music and master’s degrees in piano performance from Arizona State University.

Teaching is as much a love for Denenberg as performing. She has been a part of the Music Teachers Association of California for four years, where she served on the Board of Directors in 2010-2011. She is also a part of the Music Teachers Association of Ohio and the College Music Society.

The Faculty Gala will included in the wide selection of musical literature are selections from “Rigoletto Paraphrase” by Verdi and Liszt to Edward Elgar’s “Salut D’Amour.”

The Friends of Heidelberg Music will hold its annual meeting at 2:30 p.m. in Pancoast Recital Hall. The FOHM supports the Department of Music, and some of their events include raising money to renovate Brenneman Music Hall, providing funds for musical and theatre programs, and sponsoring picnics for the Music Department. All current members invite any prospective members to come to this annual meeting.

A reception will follow the Faculty Gala. All are welcome to attend, free of charge.