44 inducted into Honor Society

May 2, 2011

TIFFIN – The Heidelberg University Honor Society, which recognizes and promotes scholarship in the liberal arts, inducted 44 students on April 18. To qualify, students must be seniors with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or better and rank in the top 15 percent of the graduating class.

Heidelberg’s Honor Society is modeled after the prestigious Phi Beta Kappa. Current and retired faculty, and staff who have received Phi Beta Kappa recognition, along with alumni members of the Heidelberg Honor Society, serve as the committee to maintain the organization on campus. Seven faculty and staff members have received Phi Beta Kappa recognition: Dr. Kathryn Bradie, Dr. Philip Harner, President Robert Huntington, Kristen Lindsay, Dr. Leigh Makay, Dr. Susan McCafferty and Dr. Marc O’Reilly. Honor Society alumni include Dr. David Baker, Dr. Bob Berg, Dorothy Berg, Dr. John Cook, Peggy George, Dan Higgins, Pat Hillmer, Kurt Huenemann, Sean Joyce, Susan Krieger, Tobey Robison, Sue Stine, Stacy Wheeler and Dr. Leanne Wolff.

Dorothy Berg, who is co-president along with Bob Berg, presided over the induction ceremony. Huenemann gave the invocation and O’Reilly provided a history of the Honor Society at Heidelberg. The keynote address, Heidelberg in the 1930s: As Depicted in the Novel ‘The Hickory Stick’ by Virgil Scott, x’36, was delivered by Dr. Doug Collar. Dr. David Weininger inducted the new members, while Bob Berg provided the nominating report and Joyce gave the benediction.

New members of the Heidelberg Honor Society are: Jason Almendinger, Sunbury; Nadia Ardner, Tiffin; Chad Baker, Medina, N.Y.; Jakob Boehler, Tiffin; Dylan Booth, Westerville; Sharon Cipiti, Toledo; Emily Cleveland, Tiffin; Michael Coehrs, Oregon, Ohio; Andrew Crowl, South Euclid; Racheal DeRosa, Akron; Brittany Donelan, Avon Lake; Gilbert Dunn, Fremont; Drew Figley, Ashland; Michelle Fitch, Kinsman; Daniel Gifford, Laurelville; Kay Hartley, Bellevue; Zachary Hinkle, Harpster; Nathan James, Rockport, Ind.; Soubhieh Kaake, Toledo; Elizabeth Kurtzman, Mansfield; Traci Lintner, Oak Harbor; Jenna Mathias, New Riegel; Alex Monroe, Chagrin Falls; Amanda Neubauer, Sidney; Raymond Ouellette, Southwick, Mass.; Kimberly A. Patterson, Tiffin; Dawn Pfeiffer, McCutchenville; Katherine Pierce, Marion; Elisha Ramirez, Tiffin; Lining Ren, Hebei, China; Kandra Roberts, Tiffin; Seth Robertson, Burton; Magen Schlegel, Millersburg; Katherine Seese, Dalton; Jeffrey Snow, Haskins; Timothy Soflkiancs, Middleburg Heights; Allyson Stanton, London, Ohio; Kari Swagler, Monclova; Megan Tasnadi, Toledo; Katharine Ward, Traverse City, Mich.; Sara Weasel, Deshler, Ohio; Farrah C. Wynbissinger, Bellevue; Quan-Gang Zhou, Changsha, China; and Jennifer Ziolkowski, Toledo.

Additional Contact Information: 

Angie Giles
Office of University Relations
310 E. Market St.
Tiffin, OH 44883