4 faculty honored for excellence

In one of the most highly anticipated evenings of the academic year, four ‘Berg faculty members were honored for their excellence in teaching, research, commitment to the humanities and distinguished service in a celebration of academic excellence Friday night.

The annual awards were presented at a dinner with the Board of Trustees, who were on campus for their winter meetings last weekend.

Huge congratulations go to this year’s award recipients:

• Dr. Emily Isaacson (English, Honors) – the Distinguished Scholarship/Research Award
• Dr. Greg Ramsdell (music) – the Ream-Paradiso Distinguished Teaching Award
• Dr. Marc O’Reilly (political science) – the Frost Kalnow Professorship in the Humanities
• Dr. Nate Beres (chemistry) – the Distinguished Service Award, presented for the first time

Each of the award recipients gave remarks about the importance of teaching, research and service to students as part of the program.

After attending the event, Trustee Jaimie Orr ’81 commented that he appreciated “the incredible quality and the dedication to students of the faculty, illustrated by those who were recognized, and the support the faculty have for each other.”

Jaimie added, “To Marc, Greg, Nate and Emily – Congratulations! Your love of learning and commitment to your students shone like a beacon, and you each serve as an example to those of us who teach at other institutions.”

Published in Faculty

Upcoming Events

Recent News at Heidelberg

More Campus News