Tri-Alpha holds Induction Ceremony

Tri-Alpha holds Induction Ceremony

The Tri-Alpha National Honors Society inducted its newest Heidelberg members in a virtual ceremony on Thursday evening. Heidelberg's chapter was established in March of 2020 recognizes and celebrates the academic achievements of first-generation college students. The ceremony inducted 27 new members, which included students, faculty, staff, and alumni. This brings the chapter to over 100 members. 

Dr. Meagan McBride, assistant professor of graduate counseling, shared her thoughts and reflections of being a first-generation student. 

"Being a first-generation student is like joining a sports team where you don't know the rules," she said. "It was a world I didn't know and a language I didn't speak… You might feel like it wasn't built for you, but it was. Being a first-generation student is a badge of honor - you have grit, tenacity, and courage." 

To qualify for Tri-Alpha students must have earned at least 36 credit hours, have achieved an overall GPA of at least 3.2, and neither of their parents, step-parents, or legal guardians have completed a bachelor's degree. Outgoing president Shaadia Flint led the group through a strange first year and set it up for future success. 

"I wanted to be president of Tri-Alpha because I felt like it was a position that reflected my most true identity in college, a first-generation college student."

Newly elected officers include Chelsea Higgins (president), Jessika Cotsmire (vice president), Crimson Stuckert (secretary), and Hailey Taylor (treasurer). There will be a run-off for historian. 

The growing numbers in Tri-Alpha highlight another example of Heidelberg's mission to promote and nurture intellectual, personal and professional development, so students from all backgrounds can lead a life of purpose with distinction.

 2021 Tri-Alpha Inductees

Current Students

  • Cody Bertke 
  • Courtney Bryson
  • Carla Dixon
  • Kailyn Kroll
  • Hayley Kumel
  • Genesis Lucas
  • Solana Petrone
  • Ben Pollizi
  • Amanda Sharier
  • Crimson Stuckert

Faculty & Staff

  • Lynne Cartwright
  • Dr. Pamela Faber
  • Dr. Meagan McBride
  • Dr. Justin Pruneski
  • Dr. Heleana Theixos


  • Kay Adams - Class of 1977
  • George Bang - Class of 1955
  • Bradley Cobb - Class of 1986
  • John Crecelius - Class of 1970
  • John Deuble - Class of 1977
  • Emily Hase - Class of 2009
  • Andrew Law
  • Stacey Souther (nee Shull) - Class of 1999
  • Gary Steinmetz - Class of 1981
  • Mary DiCosimo Sulminski - Class of 1987
  • Anthony DiCosimo - Class of 1982

Honorary Member

  • Rachel Hiser

Upcoming Events

Recent News at Heidelberg

More Campus News