OAC releases All Academic teams

OAC releases All Academic teams

AUSTINTOWN, Ohio -- On Wednesday morning, the Ohio Athletic Conference announced the Spring 2020 Academic All-Conference selections. Featured on that list were 44 Heidelberg University student-athletes. 

Despite the unfortunate, but necessary premature end to the spring season this year due to COVID-19 precautions, the Conference has decided to uphold honoring student-athletes for their tireless and continuous work in the classroom. To be eligible for Academic All-OAC status, a student must be of sophomore class standing or higher, maintain varsity status, and have a cumulative GPA of 3.50.

Of the 44 selections, baseball and softball led the way with nine honorees each. Women's lacrosse was shortly behind with eight nominations. The remainder of selections consisted of four from women's golf and women's track and field, three each from men's lacrosse and men's track and field, two from women's tennis and one each from men's golf and men's tennis. 

Representing the baseball program were seniors Tyler Barker, Kyle Jenkins, and Mac Spears, juniors Eric DeVore, Mason Metz, Ryan Waskiewicz and Alec Zoeller, and sophomores Ryan Keane and Brady Knizner.

For the softball program, seniors Kennedy Conney, Kaitlyn Moore, and Casey Moore, junior Brooke Lewis, and sophomores Kat Brady, Maddie Gossard, Sami Griffith, Raye Hammond, and Hannah Ours constructed the selections. 

Women's Lacrosse was represented by the inclusion of seniors Jenna Carman, Bri Casement, Alexa Hawk, and Anna Winnicki, junior Jessica Ballow, and sophomores Sydney Shaffer, Kelly Spence, and Macy Zachary. 

Women's Golf was paced by seniors Megan Brugnone and Alexis Julien and juniors Autumn Simpson and Megan Zimmerman as their respective honorees. 

Of the combined seven track and field selections, seniors Haley Wulff, Allison Schwarzbek, Kelsey Grove, and Logan Kittaka, junior Lauren Mussig, and sophomores Mitch Luken and Noah Paris built their contingent. 

Men's Lacrosse was represented by a trio of sophomores in Eli Allen, Connor Reese, and Jaydon Septer.   

For women's tennis, senior Megan Novess and junior Kaitlyn Wasnik comprised the list. 

Men's tennis was honored by lone sophomore recipient, Ryan Newman, while men's golf was represented by senior and lone honoree, Jaret Miller. 

The 44 selections are the most Academic All-OAC recipients for the Student Princes in one season since 47 were selected last spring. 

Published in Athletics

Upcoming Events

Recent News at Heidelberg

More Campus News